Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 5th, 2009

Is it fall already?

Like my header shows, it is fall already and I am wondering as to how time flies! Soon the leaves would fall and it will get cold(the mercury has already started to dip to levels where a light jacket is mandatory). All the beautiful cottons, the chappals and the linens will have to be stored until next summer. Out come the woolens, the heavy jackets, the scarves, the socks, shoes, gloves and everything else that makes life heavy and static. Static reminds me, the said winter clothing will store up enough static charge everyday to give us a shock whenever we touch anything that can discharge the static, so much so that I wait for people to open doors for me all winter long. Normally I don’t care about courtesies etc, but in winter I make it a point to wait for someone else to open doors for me!

I like long winter days, only when I am curled up in blankets, with a cup of chai, not when I have to rush out in all winter paraphernalia, still shaking in the cold and driving up to work! Even a teeny tiny trip out of home in winter calls for at least 20 minutes of pre-prep. (No need to check the temperature on weather.com) Wear your sweater, wear the socks, wear the shoes, wrap the scarf, throw the jacket on the back, wear the shoes. By this time your arms are bulky enough to not let you slip your bag on your shoulders, whereas in summer all you do is wear your skimpiest best, slip on those chappals and swing the bag on the shoulder and walk out! Getting invited to a party in winter means you reserve at least an hour to get ready, 20 mins out of which will go in making yourself bulky and ugly with winter clothing.

Winter is the season we fall back on comfort food to fill the tummy. Eating out is minimized to avoid the pre-prep and laziness sends us into a hibernation of sorts, emerging only to go to work. Chais, khichdis, rasams, rajmas rule the kitchen, and grocery shopping is put off until the fridge is absolutely empty.

Snow is another story. The day it snows it is all beautiful is pretty like a fairy land. But step out of the warmth of home and you see the ugly side! Pants get wet, shoes get cold, the wind sends your well-styled hair the flat way, and your skin screams bloody murder thanks to the cold breeze! Any amount of bulking up won’t stop you from cursing at the chilly air. In addition to all this you have to use your hands to scrape all that snow from the car, thus making your hands all wet and cold.

Who wants to get out in this weather and still manage to have a good time? No I am not waiting for winter. I wait for spring and summer like I could die if they don’t come soon enough. Each winter, I just stay put and wait it out. But this winter I want a change. I want to try and enjoy it. I want to still get out, however cold it is, and have a good time. Will you wish me good luck?

Read Full Post »