Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 1st, 2010

This is the tag from IHM:

If you are a woman,

Have you ever wanted something that is considered ‘manly’ ? Like a basketball, a cell phone, a dog, a camera or a new laptop? A new car or motor bike? Ever wanted to be a pilot? A doctor or not a nurse? And the manliest want of them all – The remote! ;)

As a kid did you enjoy playing with a bat and a ball?

There was a time when books were considered ‘manly’, women authors had to pretend to be men – would you say books are still rather manly – women should want to embroider and crochet?

If you are a man,

Have you ever wanted something that only women are supposed to want – like bags, shoes, clothes, creams, perfumes, babies, flowers? A peaceful home and a happy family? Have you ever been afraid of the dark or of insects?

As a kid did you ever want to play ‘teacher-teacher’, cooking or did you like playing with a doll? Have you ever enjoyed cooking? Bought something in pink? Loved chocolates?

Growing up was a tough time for me. Not at home but whenever I got dragged to weddings and parties. I was this taller and wider than average girl who hated wearing even the smallest of earrings and always wore cotton. My aunts and all well-meaning relatives always tried to corner me in order to lecture me on making an effort to dress up like a girl, all of which I promptly brushed off. Things changed as I grew older, but while my more girly cousins and friends moved to pretty jewelry, bindis, sarees and the like, I merely moved from cotton dresses to plain shirts, blouses, neutral pants and skirts! Sure I like my 7-8 pairs of shoes and 3 handbags, but deep down I still am that little girl who is comfortable being in the background in her plain clothes!

I am a bundle of contradictions, and in no way do I really conform to the female stereotype. I am your average woman who likes some girly things and dislikes some!

  1. I kill any bug that finds its way into our home. (I have a process that uses one rolled up envelope and a piece of tissue paper!)
  2. I don’t like to sit at the kitchen table and talk woman-stuff when we visit people. I prefer if both men and women sat in the living room and talked. I like to talk politics, sports and current affairs more than ‘what I cook’, ‘what someone else cooks’, recipes and jewelers, but I also like to talk about latest bolly-gossip!
  3. I don’t apply makeup. Only when there is a BIG party or that one time when I got married. Otherwise I am a wash my face and apply moisturizer girl. I also don’t thread my eyebrows or go for regular facials, manicure and pedicure. I do apply/reapply nail polish though. And I do love to dress up, even if it means wearing a non-fussy, color-coordinated outfit and pretty earrings and necklace etc.
  4. I am a bad cook. The husband cooks better than I do. He also has a lot more patience while cooking, he waits for the mustard seeds to crack, while I just dump everything in the oil and put a lid on it!
  5. I am not a very good housekeeper. I let books accumulate in room corners, and conveniently ignore their existence until I need to read that particular book again!
  6. I wear more blacks and browns and navy blues than pinks or corals or reds. I also don’t have tens of bags and shoes. I have some, but not too many!
  7. I prefer to sit and read a book than dress up and go out to party!
  8. I don’t do any puja. I don’t fast for the long life of my husband. I don’t wear mangalsutra or toe rings or bangles. The only time my Hindu roots show up is once a year for Varalakshmi Vratam.
  9. I am not a damsel in distress. I prefer lifting my own weight. (Although I do ask the husband to lift things that I really cannot!)
  10. I don’t go all awwww on stuffed toys. Neither on pink streamers, glitter or anything else pink!

And because I don’t want to wear blue pants all my life(yes that is the curse if you don’t tag 12 others), I tag: Tangytrivia, Nuttie Natters, Deepti, Nabeela(even though you deleted your blog, you can guest blog, here or anywhere else you like!), Mayur, Aniruddha, Ugich Konitari, Roop, Parul, Anju, Anu Russel and Sraikh.

Read Full Post »